The X PRIZE Foundation has named the ten finalists in its oil cleanup competition, the Wendy Schmidt Oil Cleanup X Challenge , the group announced on May 23 at the IOSC in Portland, OR. The ten teams will move forward to Phase II field testing of their ideas where they will demonstrate their ability to efficiently and rapidly clean up oil on the ocean surface at the Ohmsett facility.

The X Prize launched its oil cleanup challenge in July of 2010, in response to the BP oil spill in the Gulf. The teams include CRUCIAL, US; Elastec, US; Koseq, Netherlands; Lamor, Finland; NOFI, Norway; OilShaver, Norway; PPR, US; Voraxial, US; and Vor-Tek, US.